Extract from debut novel ‘The Dark Era’ by James Eddy

‘The Dark Era’ by James Eddy is available to preorder from Amazon, Smashwords, ITunes, Kobo, and Barnes and Noble.
To give you a small idea of what you can expect from the book here’s a brief extract:

I’m woken by the sound of banging on the front door. It’s ten past nine so I’m already running late. I’m completely fucking shattered. I get to the door, as quick as I can and see Stephen through the glass. I unlock and pull the door open to ask, ”What do you want Nowak?”
He grins, which is sort of unusual for him.
”Just thought I’d stay here today. You mind?
He already knows that I don’t. He spends most of his time here anyway.
“I’ve gotta go out in a bit but stick around as long as you want, mate.”
He comes inside and heads into the living room as I go back to my room to get changed.
By the time I come out, he’s already playing on the X-Box; the boy’s bloody obsessed with ‘Mass Effect’.
“Dunno what time I’ll be back but I’ll see you later,” I tell him.
He looks up and nods his head and then looks back at the screen. I don’t bother locking the door behind me and walk quickly down the road. As I go past Dragon’s house I see the armchair is gone and I wonder what the hell they did with it after I went to bed.
It’s a warm morning, and the sun is out, but my eyes sting and I’m not feeling any less tired yet. Waiting for the bus is when the nerves start taking hold and then I’m struck by the realisation that I should’ve double checked that she was still coming today. It’s not like she’s always that reliable. Of course, I’m not either but that’s hardly the point.
I’m tapping out a text to her but it’s already too late. The bus has arrived, so I step inside and look towards the back. And she’s there. She smiles and I do too.

James Eddy was born in Braintree, Essex in April 1980. After moving first to Colchester, Essex, the family settled in South Norfolk and James was able to enjoy the wide open spaces and quiet of the area which fed his imagination. Following an undistinguished University career, he began writing scripts for films and acting out the cliche of the drunken writer. He diversified by moving into prose and eventually focussed enough to write a collection of Short Stories called 'Diamonds' along with several other short stories a novel and novella. He released 'Bewilder', the first story from 'Diamonds' in April 2012.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Debut, Fiction, Modern British Fiction, Novel, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

The Dark Era – Pubslush Video
I'm a featured author at Freebooksy
Blog Stats
  • 1,397 hits
October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
