Crowdfunding on Pubslush

At this precise moment, I have a crowdfunding campaign taking place online at Pubslush.com
For those that don’t know quite what this means, I am using pledges made by kind souls to finance the marketing/promotion/cover design of my novel ‘The Dark Era‘. In return (and if it reaches a certain minimum amount for money raised) I will provide the pledgers with certain things depending upon how much cash they are willing to commit to the project.
Here’s a few details on the book:

The Dark Era is really three stories in one and they’re all set over a single weekend in May 2010. The stories look at three generations of the same family: a grandfather, a father and a son.

When the grandfather, Stanislaw Gombrowicz, falls into a coma, he finds that he’s inside a fantasy world with some similarities to the conflict and experiences that made him travel to England from Poland in 1945. Through a blue haze of fog and sparkling lights, he travels over, under and across this world; fighting to survive, while images from the past and the future echo through his mind.

As this is happening, the second story is taking place in the real world. In many ways, this is a coming of age story that happens to be about a middle aged man. It is the story of how Stanislaw’s son, David, tries to come to terms with his past mistakes and with the difficulties in his relationship with his father; as he races across the country to be at his bedside.

The third story follows David’s son, Jonathon, and his struggles to put together a book about his grandfather’s experiences during World War II. In this he’s hardly helped by Stanislaw’s Alzheimers ravaged memories, by the distractions of enjoying his own life, and also by his attempts to avoid seeing his father.

These stories ultimately combine to show how a family can both preserve and let go of the past to create a better future.

And here are the different levels of pledges and what you can get in return:

£3+

My thanks and a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB).

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

£10+

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF, EPUB).

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

£15+
Only 150 left!

My thanks, a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB) and a signed paperback copy

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

*£7 international shipping fee if your shipping address is outside of United Kingdom.

£20+
Only 99 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB) and a signed paperback copy

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

*£7 international shipping fee if your shipping address is outside of United Kingdom.

£30+
Only 25 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF, EPUB) and an exclusive ‘Dark Era’ T-Shirt.

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

*£7 international shipping fee if your shipping address is outside of United Kingdom.

£35+
Only 50 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB) a signed paperback copy of ‘The Dark Era’ and also my other books ‘In Dreams’ and ‘Diamonds’.

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

*£15 international shipping fee if your shipping address is outside of United Kingdom.

£40+
Only 25 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB), a signed paperback copy and an exclusive ‘Dark Era’ T-Shirt.

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

*£10 international shipping fee if your shipping address is outside of United Kingdom.

£55+
Only 25 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB) a signed paperback copy of ‘The Dark Era’ and my other books ‘In Dreams’ and ‘Diamonds’. On top of this you will receive a cd copy of my personal playlist for ‘The Dark Era’ and signed notes on why the songs are significant to the book.

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

*£15 international shipping fee if your shipping address is outside of United Kingdom.

£125+
Only 1 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB) a signed paperback copy of ‘The Dark Era’ and also my other books ‘In Dreams’ and ‘Diamonds’. In addition to this, I will give you my own vinyl copy of the album ‘In The Aeroplane Over The Sea’ by Neutral Milk Hotel and my paperback copy of ‘On The Road’ by Jack Kerouac. Both of these works are, in different ways, key influences upon me and ‘The Dark Era’ and so I hope you get as much enjoyment from them as I have.

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

£125+
Only 1 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB) a signed paperback copy of ‘The Dark Era’ and also my other books ‘In Dreams’ and ‘Diamonds’. In addition to this, I will give you my own vinyl copy of the album ’29’ by Ryan Adams and my paperback copy of ‘100 Years of Solitude’ by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Both of these works are, in different ways, key influences upon me and ‘The Dark Era’ and so I hope you get as much enjoyment from them as I have.

Estimated Delivery
Jul 2014

£200+
Only 3 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB) a signed paperback copy of ‘The Dark Era’ and also my other books ‘In Dreams’ and ‘Diamonds’. The main part of the reward though is to have lunch with me in the City of Norwich, which appears frequently in the book. I will happily pay for your train journey to get to Norwich and of course for lunch but if you do not live in the UK then I’m afraid that i simply cannot stretch to any plane fares etc. Sorry.

Estimated Delivery
Sep 2014

£300+
Only 2 left!

My thanks and a mention by name at the back of the book, along with a digital copy of the book (Kindle, PDF or EPUB) a signed paperback copy of ‘The Dark Era’ and also my other books ‘In Dreams’ and ‘Diamonds’. On top of this you will receive a cd copy of my personal playlist for ‘The Dark Era’ and signed notes on why the songs are significant to the book. The main part of the reward though, is a guided tour of the locations and settings in ‘The Dark Era’. This will include a train ticket to and from Norwich, lunch/drinks, driving/ wandering around the city and other locations that appear in the book. Once again this is not something that I can make available to any international supporters, unless they can get into the UK on their own, but even so I feel it is a reward that is well worth having.

There are 28 days left of the campaign and I hope that it might be something you would like to contribute to, or at least tell people about. If it is then go to http://thedarkera.pubslush.com
Thanks for reading and all the best.

James Eddy was born in Braintree, Essex in April 1980. After moving first to Colchester, Essex, the family settled in South Norfolk and James was able to enjoy the wide open spaces and quiet of the area which fed his imagination. Following an undistinguished University career, he began writing scripts for films and acting out the cliche of the drunken writer. He diversified by moving into prose and eventually focussed enough to write a collection of Short Stories called 'Diamonds' along with several other short stories a novel and novella. He released 'Bewilder', the first story from 'Diamonds' in April 2012.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Crowdfunding, Debut, Fiction, Modern British Fiction, Novel

Leave a Reply

The Dark Era – Pubslush Video
I'm a featured author at Freebooksy
Blog Stats
  • 1,392 hits
May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
